The Sticker Chart

Surprise, surprise, Matt’s away and here I am back to writing. Do I write because I have more time or because it manages stress while he’s gone? Just like with how many licks it takes to get to the center of a tootsie pop, the world may never know.

Anywho, recently a friend of mine had a BRILLIANT idea that I had to share with the world (or the 5 people who read this thing). Remember those sticker reward charts from when you were a kid? Why did we stop doing those? (note: I’m fully aware that my friend who brought this up is incredibly brilliant)

Thus, I have borrowed her idea and am doing it. Few reasons: 1) it’ll utilize positive reinforcement to develop good habits, 2) the reward after getting 90%+ on stickers will be WELL WORTH IT and 3) it will only serve to help my brain get more organized!

So what do I earn stickers for, you ask? Well my friend has lofty goals like getting out of bed without hitting the snooze button, running x miles, etc. Mine are going to be things like clean up one area of the house, write, go for a run, be in bed by 10 (seeing how with this current work up the kids are sleeping like shit that one isn’t so hard so I may alter it).

And my reward? 1 new work outfit. (yes, I practiclaus’d myself, but I wouldn’t normally shop, so it’s good idea.)

I figured if I wrote about it here I could start my writing habit back up, earn a sticker, and put it out into the world to hold myself accountable!

What’s on your sticker chart?

One thought on “The Sticker Chart

Leave a Reply

