Children’s Programming is Just Disturbing

When you’re a kid, you think kid’s shows are awesome. When you’re an adult, you realize just how disturbing all of this is!

Today’s example: Sesame Street

When I was a kid, I LOVED this show. I figured when I’m not feeling so hot or just need a mommy time out, why not let my son watch this? It’s educational, it’s entertaining, and they throw in jokes for the parents!

SESAME STREET IS SO DIFFERENT NOW.

Here’s the on-the-surface changes:
-Bert/Ernie: Their stuff is mostly claymation now. (They’re still “confirmed bachelors, so that’s cool)
-There’s a whole array of new characters (Zoe & Abbey to name a few)
-Our favorite old characters are now basically guest appearances- The Count, Big Bird, etc
-There’s an animated segment called “Abby’s Flying Fairy School”, which has a catchy theme song

Then there’s some more disturbing changes:
– Oscar the grouch? He’s on zoloft or prozac, because that guy is awfully happy for a grouch in a trash can.
– Snuffy is no longer stoned
– Cookie Monster IS ON A DIET and can’t go cookie crazy

And then, there’s Elmo.
Elmo has issues, man. I HATE the Elmo segments. He’s supposed to be a toddler, right? Where is his adult supervision? Why is he left in a room to draw on the walls with a crayon? Why is he talking to a fish? And MOST IMPORTANTLY- WHY does Elmo talk to the pedophile who is always outside his damn window? Mr. Noodle freaks me out. I think the reason Mr. Noodle doesn’t talk is because it would violate his parole. That character and that whole situation irks me. WWe DVR Sesame Street, so I usually skip Elmo for fear it’ll teach Asher to talk to strangers, or draw on walls.

Am I the only person that has noticed these changes in Sesame Street? I’m sure, as Asher gets older and I let him watch more kid’s programming, I’ll notice even more crazy things. But what do you think?

Leave a Reply

