Settling In…and my surprising Twitter love.

So we have been in Jacksonville, NC for about two months now and it’s certainly…interesting.

Who am I kidding, it’s severely depressing.
I’m not sure if it was the in-your-face Suicide Hotline banner that greeted us when we drove on base the first time, but this area initially strikes me as a place that may have a higher-than-usual rate.

I keep waiting for the dueling banjos to come out to greet me.

Thus far, I’ve been to a few functions to meet people, but I’ve yet to meet anyone I feel like I could be my sarcastic self around fully yet. I really like our neighbors next door (3 single dudes who sit in their garage and drink when they have time off) but they’re all moving out at the end of this month. They’re cool guys who seem to know other neighbors, so I’m utilizing them as a “meet people in our hood” tool, instead of relying upon Bowser to get loose and meet neighbors for me (who end up calling me to return him). It’s handy.

Speaking of, our “hood” is INCREDIBLY isolated. Seriously. The local grocery store is 15 min away. This is a very different way of living.

That said, there’s a lot of local produce/meat/dairy readily accessible and it’s DELICIOUS. I’ve been cooking more (but I’m still no Food Network star), and I’ve spent so much time chasing a now mobile baby that I haven’t truly noticed how little I’ve been out.

This next part is unexpected, but true: Twitter has been a blessing. There are people I’ve never met who are such a strong support system on Twitter. Matt is currently away training for 2 months and Twitter has been there to make me laugh, let me vent, and just support me. I never thought I would say this, but I love the Twitter.

Anywho, I’m resigning myself to more of a schedule, giving myself more activities. I have some leads on playgroups and other functions in town to get involved in. I know this time here will only be what I make of it and I plan to make the most of it!

…sorry for the “serious” post. Had to update with what’s happening in my life, though. Will be back to regular broadcasting soon enough!

Leave a Reply

